Tuesday, August 11, 2009

Merdeka Millennium Endurance 2009

MME 2009

The 10th Merdeka Millennium Endurance race was successfully held on 6-8 August 2009 and flagged off by Motorsports Association of Malaysia, Dato' Azman Yahya after the national anthem was played. 46 cars total in 3 different classes (O, A1 & A2), 3 drivers per car, 12 hours of 15 corners, with the finishing car at the end of the 12th hour with 306 laps in. There were 17 retirements out of the 46 cars that qualified for the race.

Team Petronas Syntium Z4M car no 28 driven by drivers Tatsuya Kataoka, Manabu Orido and Johan Adzmi completed the 306 laps of the 12 hour MMER snatching their team mates Nobuteru Taniguchi, Masataka Yanagida and Farique Hairuman in their no 15 car which had a puncture and pitted in just 20 minutes left on the clock.

MME 2009

It was a real honour to be able to race with the two experienced SuperGT drivers (Kataoka and Orido) as they thought me a lot through the race, said Johan, being the youngest on the podium that night.

MME 2009

Last year's champions, Team Porsche Club Singapore came in third as they made their way back up after starting the race from the last spot on the starting grid due to a stalled engine at the starting grid.


A1 class was bagged by Team Fugazi Racing driven by Alex Yoong, Wira Dani and Faizal Zelman by completing 284 laps in their Radical Race Car. And finally, Team TypeR Racing which was driven by drivers YC Wong, KK Soh and WS Lai in their Honda Civic TypeR snatched podium in class A2, completing 278 laps with a total time of 11:57:31.718.

MME 2009

View the
Full Results here.

1 comment:

fabulous said...

nice pix & nice post. mcm news :))) keep it coming...